Skip to content

The Lincolnshire Police and Crime Panel

Significant changes in police governance and accountability have been introduced with The Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011. The legislation replaces the Police Authority with an elected Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC). On the 5 May 2016 Mr Marc Jones was elected as the PCC for Lincolnshire. The PCC is responsible for deciding the priorities and budget for the Lincolnshire police force and is accountable to the public for the performance of their police force.

The Act requires the local authorities in each police force area to establish and maintain a Police and Crime Panel. The Act requires that the Panel must be balanced in terms of geography, politics, and the skills, knowledge and experience of Panel members. The Panel does not scrutinise the performance of the force as a whole or the Chief Constable as this is the responsibility of the PCC.

The Functions of the Police and Crime Panel

The Police and Crime Panel has a number of powers and responsibilities, includin

- Scrutinising the actions and decisions of the Police and Crime Commissioner

- Reviewing the draft Police and Crime Plan to ensure local priorities have been considered

- Scrutinising and commenting upon the Annual Report of the PCC

- Reviewing and reporting on the precept proposed by the PCC. The Panel has the right to veto the Commissioner's proposed policing precept (the money collected from Council Tax for policing)

- Holding confirmation hearings for the proposed appointment of a Chief Constable and senior support staff

Who sits on the Police and Crime Panel?

The Police and Crime Panel consists of ten councillors from the eight local authorities. The members are listed below:

Councillor Malcolm G Chandler
South Holland District Council

Councillor Geoffrey Hazelwood
North Kesteven District Council

Councillor Daniel McNally
Lincolnshire County Council

Councillor Graham Marsh
East Lindsey District Council

Councillor Mrs Angela Newton
Lincolnshire County Council

Councillor Mrs Fay Smith
City of Lincoln Council

Councillor Mrs Anne Welburn
West Lindsey District Council

Councillor Stephen Woodliffe
Boston Borough Council

Councillor Ray Wootten
South Kesteven District Council

Councillor Barry Young
Lincolnshire County Council

Two independent co-opted members have also been appointed through an open recruitment process:

David Ramscar

Christopher Cook - Chairman of the Panel

Information regarding the Panel and details of future meetings are available at